Food Waste Frustration

We have a terrible problem in our household: food waste.  No matter how hard I try to store foods properly, far too much goes to waste.  Lately our problem has been meats.  I try to buy for 2 weeks at a time.  This was never a problem until we moved into this house.

For some reason, keeping meats fresh in our fridge, or stored in the freezer, is not working.  Chicken goes bad within a day.  Ground beef bad within a few days.  I’ll divide and freeze in an airtight Ziplock bag, only to thaw out a bag of rotten meat.  What on earth is happening?  The refrigerator is brand new, no issues keeping temperatures on either side.  What is causing the meat to rot so quickly?

Today I had to throw out a pound of boneless chicken breasts ($6.19) and two pounds of lean ground beef ($12)  down the drain.  That’s over $18 going straight into the trash, instead of being made into 4-5 meals.  Complete waste of money!

Any tips on storing meats?  Particularly ground beef and chicken.  So far we’ve had no issues with pork.  I can’t afford to keep throwing money away like this, it adds up.  We haven’t had any issues with produce going bad quickly either, which are also (mostly) stored in the refrigerator.

Ideally I’d like to buy our meats in bulk from a meat market, but I don’t dare risk doing that just yet when we can’t even keep a pound of something fresh.  Imagine losing $100s in one fell swoop.  Ouch.  Purchasing from the local meat market could save us hundreds, but not until we can get a handle on this problem.

This entry was posted in Budgeting, Food, Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Food Waste Frustration

  1. Kyle says:

    That’s really strange! Is there some kind of defrost cycle weirdness happening?

    Like

  2. Lucy says:

    I’d get a thermometer and make sure my freezer was actually staying at the right temperature. That is a lot of money to throw away!

    Like

    • That’s a good idea! I will definitely get a thermometer and see what happens. Just strange we’ve not had any issues with other freezer items, such as ice cream, leftovers, etc!

      Like

      • Amanda @ My Life, I Guess says:

        Yes, I was going to suggest the same. Something is definitely not right if it’s happening to all your meat. Hopefully it’s an easy solution!

        Like

      • We’re going to test the temps this weekend, and if we can’t figure anything out we’ll be shopping for a new fridge. Hoping it’s a cheaper fix than a replacement!

        Like

  3. If you find the fridge isn’t the problem, maybe it’s with the supplier, have you tried going to get your meat from a different grocery store and seeing if you still have the same problem?

    Liked by 2 people

  4. OneFamily says:

    That is strange. I’m terrible about buying a bulk of hamburger, putting it in the fridge and not getting it split up and put in the freezer before it goes bad. I’m really trying to be better about this, but have never had any problems with it going bad when frozen. It will be interesting to see what is causing it, if you can find out. How are you defrosting the meat?

    Like

    • For defrosting, I usually just pull it out of the freezer the night before using it. If still frozen by the time I’m ready to cook, I’ll use the cold water method to defrost the rest of the way.

      Like

      • OneFamily says:

        you must be so frustrated! that’s a lot of money down the drain. I’d try the temperature testing. I do wrap my food in plastic wrap, then put in ziploc. Most stuff seems to last at least a few months in the freezer. I defrost same way you do.

        Like

  5. Pingback: Food Waste Frustration Continued! | Intrepid Debt Blog

  6. Pingback: Buying in Bulk – School Snack Savings | Intrepid Debt Blog

Leave a Reply

