Adapting to Change

The time has finally arrived.  DH’s new position recently began.  As a result of his companies “reorganization”, he now works night shift, and received a 5% pay increase, despite being told it would be 7% or 7.5%.  The new position is about 10x the workload, while the pay raise doesn’t even cover our insurance premium increase for 2017.  Meaning, our take home pay after taxes and insurance, is less than it was last year.

But that’s not the worst, or hardest part, for me.  It’s his absence at night.  I don’t like it.  The kids don’t like it.  Frankly it’s like he isn’t a part of the family.  When he is home, he’s sleeping.  That leaves me to handle the household, kids, school work, errands, etc. I have to admit I’m frustrated, a bit overwhelmed.  I’m hoping once he gets use to the new schedule, we’ll figure out a more productive routine for our family.

Working night shift just isn’t conducive to family time.  I grew up with a father that worked nights.  I witnessed how exhausted he was all the time.  I don’t want that for DH, nor our kids.  But it is what it is for right now.  It’s a job.  It pays the bills.   It will take some time, but we’ll adapt.  We always do.

Doesn’t mean I have to like it though.  🙂

This entry was posted in Family, Work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adapting to Change

  1. Lucy says:

    As a nurse, I worked 3rd shift for well over 10 years. For me it was finding the balance of pros and cons. The pros were that, although tired, I was more readily available for our kids and being that it was third shift, I was paid more. The cons were that I was always tired and I often felt like my hubby and I were like two ships passing in the night. Sometimes you just do what you gotta do! Hope it quickly gets better for you.

    Like

  2. Pingback: March Debt Update | Intrepid Debt Blog

Leave a Reply

