Wal-Mart Grocery Pick-Up

IMG_6318Last week I tried out Wal-Mart’s grocery pick-up service for the first time.  It was spring break, and we were being pounded by some of the scariest thunderstorms we’ve had in years.  (Lots of tornados!)  The last thing I wanted to do was go out in stormy weather, then wander around the store with them, and drive home in even worse weather.  No thank you.

I came across a $10 off coupon for Wal-Mart Grocery Pick-Up and figured I’d give it a shot.  Loading up my cart was easy.  Every thing I needed was on the website.  Produce, dairy, snacks, diapers, etc.  Great selection and I didn’t personally come across anything that was unavailable during the purchasing part.  If they’re out of something, you can opt for them to provide a substitution.  If the substitute is more costly, they still honor the lower price of your original selection.

IMG_6352Pick up was easy.  I downloaded the Wal-Mart Grocery app on my Iphone.  When my order was ready, I just clicked the ‘check in’ button to let them know I was on the way.  15 minutes later I pulled into the pick-up parking spot, opened my app, and it automatically noted that I had arrived, and an employee would be out soon with my order.  About 30 seconds later, a lady came out with my order, and proceeded to load it into my trunk.  She let me know what item was out of stock (Teddy Grahams) and that I was not charged for it.

IMG_6344

I was also presented with a cute little welcome bag full of free samples.  I can definitely appreciate the freebies!  Of course there are pros and cons to this service, so I’ll lay it all out below….

Pros

  • Convenience, convenience, convenience!!!
  • You can use your receipt for the Wal-Mart Savings Catcher app.  Enter the TN number at the top of your emailed receipt and enter the date of pick-up (not date of order.)  I got back $4.97!
  • NO IMPULSE SHOPPING!  You get what you order, and since you’re not walking around endlessly, you’re not adding unnecessary items to your cart.
  • Easy to use.  Shopping, check-out, check-in with app, and pick-up are easy!
  • They will adjust prices!  For example, I bought boneless chicken breasts for $11.64, but the pack I receive was $10.79.  I was charged the lower price, not the website price.

Cons

  • My main gripe is that Ibotta (a grocery savings app) does not accept the grocery pick-up receipts.   I found this out before ordering and adjusted my list accordingly.
  • Someone else is picking out your produce!  My experience was great, but this could bother some folks.
  • You cannot use manufacturer coupons for the products you purchase.
  • If you do not have an Iphone, you’ll need to call 15 minutes prior to pick-up, and upon arrival.  Not really a con, but not as convenient.
  • The Grocery app itself is very, very slow to load.
  • You need to order 24 hours before pick-up.  Well, 16-24 hours.  If you need something Monday, don’t expect to order it for pick-up that same day, it will have to be Tuesday during your selected reservation time!
  • Edited to add:  As noted in the comments section, the grocery pick-up service isn’t available at all stores!  My closest store did not offer it, and I did drive a bit further for it (10 minutes.)

Final Thoughts

I LOVE it.  Primarily for staple items that rarely ever have coupons or rebates.  Meats, produce, dairy.  I’ve used the service a second time already, and it was another great experience.  As someone with young kids, who hates going in Wal-Mart to begin with, this is a wonderful, convenient service.

It doesn’t rule out in-store shopping completely, because I will try to save where I can.  The $10 off $50 helped sway me the first time – and the bad weather – but if I have coupons or rebates for items we typically buy, I’ll suck it up and go inside.

If you’re interested in trying it out, here’s a referral code for $10 off!  Not a paid post (ha!), I really did try this out on a whim, and noticed the referral codes while screenshotting some pictures for the post.  🙂

I’ve heard of similar curbside pick-up services with Kroger and CVS, but haven’t tried them out yet.  Anyone given Wal-Mart Grocery Pick-Up a try?  Good/bad experience?

This entry was posted in Budgeting, Family, Food, Home, Savings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wal-Mart Grocery Pick-Up

  1. Lucy says:

    Well, shoot, I was all ready to give this a try as a trip to Walmart was something I needed to do. Unfortunately, it is not yet available in my area. I did sign up for their wait list though.

    Like

  2. OneFamily says:

    it’s not available in my area yet, either. Sounds like it would be great to use.

    Like

  3. Patti Coleman says:

    For the reasons you mentioned, I have grocery delivery at least every 2 weeks sometime more often depending on the sale thats running. For 3.95 I can have my groceries picked out, loaded, delivered and brought to my kitchen. I particularly like them doing the heavy stuff, cases of soda, water, cat litter, fire logs. I do have to go out tomorrow because another grocery store has my prescriptions and bacon on sale plus it will give me a chance for couponing, and perusing the clearance sections. I also have 90# of dog food and treats delivered every 6 weeks by Chewy.com. Again no loading and unloading and carrying 40# bags of dog food, no impulse toy buying, and no more spending the weekend running errands.

    Like

  4. Pingback: 2017 Goals Check In | Intrepid Debt Blog

  5. Pingback: Life… | Intrepid Debt Blog

Leave a Reply

