April Debt Update

April was a bit of a blur.  I admit we didn’t do much for extra income or debt payments this month.  A summary of this month would be credit cards, car repairs, planning a road trip, and job hunting.  I feel a bit overwhelmed by life lately.

At the end of March I posted our updated debt and savings amounts:

  • Starting Debt: $77,504.54
  • Starting Savings: $16,240.84*

*I’m only accounting for our regular liquid savings account.  Not the apps, investments, or Digit.

I laid out all of our current credit card debts in this post here.  That post also briefly mentions our mortgage on a rental property that is just under $60k.

  • Starting Credit Cards: $11,186.44
  • Starting Mortgage: $60,185.80

New Numbers

As of April 30th, our debt and savings are currently:

  • Current Debt: $76,877.93
  • Current Savings: $16,643.14

March breakdown…

  • Credit Cards: $7,633.56
  • Mortgage: $59,213.98
  • Auto Loan: $10,030.39

Basically, no major progress.  Liquid savings is steadily growing.  We have a percentage from DH’s paychecks automatically deposited each pay period.  Once we hit our goal of $17,500.00 for this year, we’ll change it up.

  • Debt decreased by $626.60
  • Savings increased by $2,209.24 (including investments)

I have not withdrawn our road trip funds from Digit yet.  The Digit balance will be much lower next month, since it is funding our $1,000.00 budget road trip in June.

Overall…

Not an exciting month.  Less about money, more about actively pursuing jobs.  My application with the county is still “in process”, and Amazon has not reopened any training spots.  I’m continuing my search.  I’ve updated my sidebar and debt progress page with all the numbers as well.

I’m working on a few posts about income and expenses.  Long overdue!

How did everyone else do with debt reduction and savings for April? Hope it was more productive than ours! 😉

This entry was posted in Debt, Goals, Monthly Update, Savings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to April Debt Update

  1. Amanda @ My Life, I Guess says:

    I was off work for nearly 2 weeks with the flu, so April wasn’t a great month for me. I am extremely grateful that I get paid sick days (at a .75 rate – which is waaaaaaaay better than nothing!) at my job, otherwise, it would have been a lot worse.

    Like

  2. Pingback: May & June Debt Update | Intrepid Debt Blog

Leave a Reply

