Rental House ‘Flood’ Claim – Approved!

This week has been non-stop.  I’ve been single handedly dealing with the kids, several appointments, and the rental house saga.  Not to mention I still have to prep for DS2’s birthday party this weekend!

I do have good news to report though!  My insurance company is covering the damage at my old house (currently rented out by a family member.)  My insurance adjuster came out the other morning to assess the damage and insisted I have a water mitigation company come out.  The adjuster originally estimated my “substantial claim” to be around $7,000, but after pulling my receipts, I’m expecting it to be higher than that.

I am so thankful that the water mitigation company is billing my insurance company directly, because there was no way we could afford that up front.  Their estimate was $2500-$3100 for their services!  They ended up tearing up all the flooring the same day, setting up fans, a dehumidifier, and doing moisture tests every day for 3-5 days.  Meaning I’m having to drive 45 minutes (one way) to meet them out there every day this week.  I did have to pay the water heater installer out of pocket for parts and plumbing.

My deductible is $1,000. Out of pocket I have paid for the following:

  • $600 – Water Heater + Install (billed to cc)
  • $40 – Expansion Tank(billed to cc)
  • $25 – Hooks Ups for Water Heater (billed to cc)
  • $125 – Shut Off Valve (during install)(billed to cc)
  • $350 – Plumbing (during install – pipes were 1/2″, code requires 3/4″) (cash)
  • Total Spent: $1,140.00

I’ve more than met my deductible.  My insurance adjuster is also putting in to have all our flooring replaced.  The house is a split-level set up.  There are three stairs doing to the lower level, which flooded, but the floor is continuous from the main level.  Therefore, they are planning to cover a complete replacement, even though the main floor is perfectly fine.  Since this particular flooring is no longer available, they have to cover the full replacement, since it’s an open, continuous area.  I pulled my receipts from our remodel in 2014, and flooring came to $5,338!

Adjuster is also estimating for steps to be stained to match, new drywall, trim, new carpet in the bedroom, the water heater, parts, install, mitigation, home deodorizing (due to mildew smell), and a few other things I have forgotten.  I’m still awaiting his official email.  Oh, tile.  We may have to completely replace the tile in the laundry/utility room and bathroom, as it has a high moisture rating.  I’m hoping that’s not the case, and the mitigation company can dry it all out.  Unfortunately the other flooring could not be save, as it had completely buckled/warped.

I admit I am shocked at what they are taking into consideration for this claim.  And to think I wasn’t even going to bother filing!  Obviously between flooring replacement and the water mitigation, it will be well above $7,000.

I’ll put this money in a separate account until my renter moves out.  Aiming for February 2018.  I replaced the water heater immediately, of course, but I am not putting down new flooring for them to ruin.  Proven carelessness, plus six dogs, and four cats – NO, just no.  Have I mentioned I was not aware of most of these animals??  I also took pictures to document all the damage from animals!!  That’s a whole other problem though.

This experience has taught me that I never, ever want to be a landlord again!  I am dreading having to spend thousands – again – just to get it listed in the spring!  Kudos to you landlords, it’s not for the faint of heart!

This entry was posted in Debt, Rental Property and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rental House ‘Flood’ Claim – Approved!

  1. Sue says:

    What a nightmare – thank God for insurance!!! Family should not only KNOW better, but DO better too!

    Like

  2. Michelle says:

    I’m so sorry about all of the damage to your rental house, but so happy that insurance covered the claim!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Rental House Update – Money Pit! | Intrepid Debt Blog

Leave a Reply

