The Damn Honey Bee’s

Are back.  The are back!

After a very expensive extraction and roof repair this spring, the damn bee’s have returned.  I am so over this shit you guys, I can’t afford it.  Homeowner’s Insurance won’t touch it either.

I was just quoted $725 to re-extract and repair PLUS $2200 to “bee proof” our home.

I can’t breathe with all the stress lately.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Damn Honey Bee’s

  1. Lucy says:

    No! How is it they returned? I thought they had not only removed them but also patched up where they were getting in.

    Like

  2. OneFamily says:

    So sorry you are having to go through this again!

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    I have heard peppermint oil mixed in a spray bottle with water is supposed to deter bees and wasps. Maybe that would annoy them enough to leave? It wouldn’t hurt them, so it might be worth a try.

    Like

    • Sadly we’re way past that. We’ve battled these for nearly 2 years now and had them professionally extracted in May. They removed a huge hive from our roofline that they estimated was 4-5+ years old.

      Like

  4. Brianne says:

    Yikes! So sorry you’re going through this. When it rains it pours.

    Like

  5. Find a local bee group. They extract for free to rehome the bees. I would suspect all bees were not removed the first time. I watched bees going under the wood siding, 115-year-old siding. Finally, I just used a water hose on them many times a day. Eventually, they all left. If I were in your place, I would soak the house with insect repellant made for bees. If it is in the attic, maybe you could set off a bomb for insects. Call the county agent about the bees. Google bee keepers for your area. I would NOT pay the same guy to get them out again.

    Like

    • We’ve already been through all the bee groups and bee keepers within a 200 mile radius. Many are booked 9-12 months out! We had a pro remove them in May. I’ll link below my comment to that experience. We watched them extract the hive and vacuum all the bee’s. The area was treated and doused in ammonia to prevent them from coming back. Then we had to hire a roofing company to repair the roof. We’ve county local and state departments for referrals, which is how we ended up with our guy. DH went out and sprayed ammonia and insect repellent yesterday, we’re going to continue daily, and see what happens. If we have to pay another prof, I’m going to demand a refund from the previous guy – who basically told me “too bad, that’s nature” when I contacted him yesterday.

      https://intrepiddebtblog.wordpress.com/2017/05/12/bye-bye-bees-i-hope/

      Like

      • Yes, a hive that large would be evident! “What is that lump over there and why does this attic smell like honey?” You need to pursue this. I worked for a home loan place and I saw what the home inspector did and where he crawled because his did a video as he crawled around. And, this was 15 years ago, so not new technology. That is a very large thing the guy missed. Fix it and sue him.

        Like

      • The only time the bees are noticeable is during spring and summer. The hive is hidden in the roof dormers, no bulging, and no evidence in our attic due to spray foam insulation. We purchased our home in late fall/early winter, so there was no activity that the home inspector would have noticed. It’s frustrating, but I can’t fault him. Now our first spring here (2016) I called out pest control companies and had them spray and inspect multiple times and none of them believed me when I said I thought there was a hive! A year later that was confirmed after tearing off the roof above a bay window. Now those companies I’d love to hold responsible, but that would cost money and time we don’t have. I’m just hoping DH’s pressure washer concoction of be repellent continues to work and no more hive has been started up again! I don’t know why our roof is so damn attractive to the little pests!

        Like

  6. Michelle says:

    Oh no! I’m so sorry that you have to keep going through this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

