Monday Meal Plan

I haven’t done a meal planning post since February.  I started this blog with motivation and life got in the way.  Hopefully as the cooler months approach, I’ll be back to posting more consistently.

Anyway, I did my weekly Wal-Mart Grocery Pick-Up and picked it up this morning: $62 for the week.  Not too shabby!  I kept it quite minimal, and about $10 of that was non-food items.  Here’s the dinner menu this week:

  • Chicken Fajitas w/Cheese Dip
  • Teryaki Meatballs w/Fried Rice
  • Hot Dogs w/Corn on the Cob
  • Ziti w/Garlic Rolls
  • Bacon Egg & Cheese Biscuits (aka breakfast for dinner)

We’ll have at least one night of leftovers (ziti).  Not the healthiest stuff, but I have a lot of appointments this week with DS2.  Quick and easy is what’s for dinner.

DS2 brings his lunch to school every day.  I try to give him variety: sandwiches, DIY lunchables, and hot meals – such as leftover ziti.  The hot thermos I bought was worth every penny.  The cost to buy lunch at school is $2.10, for crap honestly.  Plus they get 25 minutes for lunch.  By the time the kids go through the line and sit down to eat, they have 10 minutes.  My seven year old is a slow eater, soooo slooow, bringing his lunch is not only cost effective for us, but less stressful for him.

DS1 is home with me.  He’s hit that picky toddler stage where he’ll only eat 3 things:  fruit, mac n cheese, and cookies.  Somedays I just have to pick my battles!  Terrible 2’s!

DH sleeps through breakfast and lunch, only eats dinner at home on work nights.  He brings a lunch to work.  Our breakfasts are simple during the week: cereal, oatmeal, bagels, etc.  On the weekends I might be in the mood to make pancakes, scrambled eggs, all that stuff.  Realistically that happens maybe once a month.

Ideally I’d like to eat better.  We do eat a lot of fruits and veggies, I always load up on fresh produce.  I’m working on finding more recipes to add to our menu, with healthier options.  Pinterest is my friend these days!

Anyone have a favorite go-to meal??  Feel free to share.  I need some ideas!

This entry was posted in Expenses, Family, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Meal Plan

  1. Sue says:

    My favorite is chicken in the crockpot topped with a package of spaghetti sauce mix and covered with chicken stock – we call it chicken marengo and it is amazing!!! Couldn’t be easier either!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Life… | Intrepid Debt Blog

Leave a Reply

